The math blog revolution marches on…

Even though their name is a shameless rip-off of ours, y’all should go check out The Everything Seminar, our Cornell-ian analogue.  As I think I’ve mentioned, I’m a big supporter of Web 2.0-icization of math, and thus am doing a little Mr. Burns-style finger tapping (“Eeeexcellent”) as I see the number of blogrolls we are on steadily grow. (For example, a student at the Max-Plank institute seems to have started a blog here, though I only see one post).

Of particular interest to me (not because of my research, just because I think it’s cool), they’ve been running a rather interesting series of posts on forbidden minors and graph embeddings into surfaces.  The forbidden minor characterization of non-planar graphs (you’ll have to follow the link if you’ve never heard of that) is one of my favorite easily-stated and mind blowing theorems, and I was very pleased to hear that there is a massive generalization of it for any minor closed property.  As Mr. Burns would say, eeexcellent.

6 thoughts on “The math blog revolution marches on…

  1. I noticed that new one, and it indeed looks good. I won’t really have a chance to give it a proper once-over until I’m back in Maryland, though.

    So, about that Hochschild homology…

  2. Thanks for recommending us. I’m glad to hear that you’ve been enjoying the graph minor posts — I really think the forbidden minor theorem deserves to be better known than it is.

    About the name . . . think of it less as a rip-off and more as an homage. ;-) In all seriousness, we think that your blog (and the whole idea of a blog as a seminar) is really cool, so we purposefully set out to do the same thing.

  3. Right. “Not-so-Secret Blogging Seminar”, that would have been a rip-off.

    For what it’s worth, I really liked your blog’s original name.

  4. The old name was funny, but just a little bit unprofessional. With an optimistic eye towards a future where your blog is an acceptable and somewhat expected part of your CV, we thought it would be good to have a title you wouldn’t end up feeling a bit awkward about telling your advisor.

    Of course, that means that the somewhat derived title is all the more embarassing for the hours and drafts that went into it.

  5. I noticed the following comment to the first post on the Cornell blog. I also noticed that they have adopted this advice. Perhaps we should do the same (though of course, I leave it up to the technologically capable among us).

    >>>
    (2) to make your blog more recognizable among others it’s possible to put a background image in the title section or simply change colors here and there (the theme you’re using right now is a default one which perhaps doesn’t look very personal).
    >>>

Comments are closed.