Writing math papers on Google Wave?

It’s not publicly usable yet, so I haven’t had a chance to test it out (and especially to test the quality of latex extensions), but there’s at least some chance that Google has actually answered the question of how to write papers online in the form of this new system, Google Wave. It seems to have about the right mixture of shareability, privacy, and flexibility. I don’t have much to say about it that Terry Tao didn’t say better, but you should all look at the developer preview of Google Wave. Or not, if you don’t want to be roundly annoyed that it hasn’t come out yet.

2 thoughts on “Writing math papers on Google Wave?

  1. Looks okay indeed, if LateX edition/viewing is properly implemented I can see it gather pace quickly, with each university or department setting up its own dedicated and secure servers.

    Speaking about web 2.0 stuff, wouldn’t it be nice too that each university provide standardized and crossed-linked repositories for research related videos? Or maybe an extension of the arXiv might be more suitable? I’m thinking both about postdocs who want to maximize viewership, and those tenured folks who have carefully edited at their office a set of video lectures on some specialized topics. Youtube doesn’t appear to be best suited for those.

  2. Poking around on my computer, I came across a program called “Gobby”. This is a real-time collaborative document editor. Trying it out, it really did work in real-time: when I typed in one screen then the text appeared as I typed on the other screen.

    (Of course, I was only on a local network, but then connection problems are going to plague every implementation of this.)

    I can’t comment on how it compares to Google Wave as yet since Gobby actually works whereas Google Wave is still in development, and I’ve only made it through about a third of that video as yet.

    You can get Gobby from, and read more about it, here:

    http://gobby.0x539.de/trac/

    It’s certainly in one of the Ubuntu software repositories, and I expect it’s in various other distributions as well. If anyone is interested, I could try to set up a session for people to try out for real.

Comments are closed.