Help proofread free textbooks for South African children

I don’t know much about this cause, having just learned about it from Tom Leinster today, but it sounds like a good one and it’s important to get the word out fast.

The Free High School Science Texts project aims to compile free (both in the sense of without cost and the sense of unrestricted by copyright) High School science texts. They have a good chance to get their books used in South African schools, providing a major test ground — if they can do a ton of proofreading this week.

If you are the sort of person who always spots typos in the papers you read, and are happy with LaTeX, read this post and this one and, if you have the time, volunteer to do some proofreading.

After all, it’s one week before classes start. I’m sure we’re all looking for ways to procrastinate

3 thoughts on “Help proofread free textbooks for South African children

  1. Thanks for spreading the word, David. I hadn’t heard of this project either until a couple of hours before I wrote that post, but it’s certainly a good one.

    For anyone interested, I’ve just finished the job and I’d say it took me about five hours from start to finish, including things like figuring out how to use the annotation software (very easy, as it turns out).

  2. I put my shoulder to the wheel too, and I really should, since I am South African! If you hang out near the Trigonometry chapter of the grade 12 maths book, you’ll be entering my ‘hood.

Comments are closed.