jump to navigation

Mathematical streets July 6, 2007

Posted by Ben Webster in Uncategorized.
trackback

On a lighter note, I’ve gotten my housing assignment from IAS. Next year, I’ll be living in a one bedroom apartment on…wait for it…von Neumann Drive. I think Weyl Lane probably would have been a little more appropriate for my research interests, but I don’t suppose they take that into account. Still, much cooler (by which I mean, dorkier) than any other street I’ve lived on before.

Of course, I would rather live on Gauss Way in Berkeley, but I’m afraid there isn’t much space for a house there. Are there any other exciting mathematical street names out there? There seems to be an Eulerstrasse in Basel, but on the whole, I feel like these sorts of things are hard to search for. Is AIM going to get a mathematically themed street name for its new place in Morgan Hill (it doesn’t seem to say at the moment on their website)?

EDIT: John Baez seems to have the same issues in mind.  The comments there lead to a list of all streets in Paris named after mathematicians.

Comments

1. David Speyer - July 6, 2007

I assume you recall that there is also a Euclid Avenue in Berkeley.

2. avillavecesn - July 6, 2007

There is an Ernst Lindelöfinkatu (Ernst Lindelöf Street) in Helsinki, very close to the Math Department:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=lindel%C3%B6finkatu&ie=UTF8&ll=60.204745,24.962204&spn=0.002532,0.009656&z=17&om=1

A. Villaveces

3. A.J. Tolland - July 6, 2007

For sheer volume of dorky street names, you can’t beat CERN. Just about every street named after a physicist. Detailed street maps seem hard to come by though…

4. Jon - July 6, 2007

There’s an Euler Ave. in Kitchener, Ontario

5. thomas1111 - July 6, 2007

There’s also a national aspect to it, for instance in France there are several streets across the country named after Henri Poincaré, Evariste Galois, Augustin Cauchy, Elie Cartan, Joseph Fourier…

6. Jerry - July 17, 2007

There’s a quaint little Riemann street in Berlin. Unfortunately I found out that it’s not named after “the” Riemann, who incidentially lived in Berlin for a while; rather it’s named after the founder of some kind of gymnastics club.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 722 other followers

