Go blue!

I thought I’d let you all know my plans for the future — I am staying at MIT one more year and then moving to the University of Michigan in Fall 2010, where I will be an associate professor.

universityofmichiganwolverines

I visited Austin, UMass Amherst, Duke, Minnesota and Stony Brook, and I would have been tremendously happy to work at any of these schools. They all made me feel very at home, and excited about the collaborations I could have there. I wish I could split myself in six!

If you are a combinatorialist who is going on the job market next year, particularly one whose interests blend into various flavors of geometry and representation theory, you should be thinking about Austin. Obviously, I have no capacity to speak for Austin, but everyone I talked to was very excited about bringing in someone in that direction. And, with Sean Keel and David Ben-Zvi around, you will never lack for interesting problems to discuss!

Most of my co-bloggers also did fairly well. I know AJ will be at Stony Brook next year, and Noah at Columbia. Any other news?

8 thoughts on “Go blue!

  1. Scott M. has a Miller at Berkeley, Chris Schommer-Pries has an NSF and a CLE Moore (though he might be at Harvard for the first year, I’m not sure). Guest blogger Emily Peters will be at UNH. Other friends of the blog that I know about: Peter Tingley has an NSF and a CLE Moore, Betsy Stovall has an NSF to UCLA for a year and then a postdoc at Brown.

  2. Well, I took the liberty to post all of that. But I don’t know what kind of position Emily Peters took at UNH (presumably U New Hampshire), nor AJ Tolland took at Stony Brook.

    Congratulations, by the way!

  3. Congratulations on the position, Ann Arbor seems a very nice place – with my wife in Ypsilanti, I’ve had the chance to see it occasionally.

    How do you think Austin’d feel about a homological algebraist with strong combinatorics interests? :-)

  4. AJ, thanks for that info. Can you ask them whether they are done with their hiring this year? (Two versions of the question, tenure-track and postdoc.)

    Actually, it would be great if any or all of you asked that simple question of your new employer, “Are you done hiring this year?” And if you could Halmos symbols to the math jobs wiki as appropriate. People really want to know, and could there be any good reason to still wait to tell them?

Comments are closed.